Blog Post #1191 – WOHSS Names New Chair, Vice-Chair

Excerpt from the OH&S Canada magazine

The Women in Occupational Health and Safety Society (WOHSS) is under new leadership.

Effective May 20, 2020, Stephanie Benay of Courtney, B.B., Is the societies new chairperson, while Shannon Bulger of Calgary is now vice-chair.

Benay – who had been serving as vice-chair – succeeds inaugural chair Paula Campkin, who now moves to the role of past chairperson.

“I am excited to pass the leadership reins of the WOHSS board to Stephanie and Shannon,” Camkin said in a press release.

“Both these women were extremely capable, dedicated and passionate about building a better future for women in Occupational Health & Safety.”

Founded in 2017, the WOHSS is a grassroots organization dedicated to supporting women working in occupational health and safety through education, mentoring, resources and connection. The group has members from across Canada and the world.

Currently Dir. of safety systems and assurance at BC Hydro,Benay is a Canadian Registered Safety Professional (CRSP) and is a founding member of WOHSS.

Previously serving as board secretary, Bolger is a CRSP with nearly 2 decades of experience. She is President and owner of Benchmark Safety, the safety management consultancy in Calgary.

My opinion

This is the first time I have ever heard of this organization. I think it is a long time overdue and that I hope that many Ontario women in the OH&S field, including my wife and two other trainers/consultants, will want to join and be a part of a bigger health and safety story.

Good luck in the future!

HRS Group Inc. has a great team that can help you with all your health and safety needs. Contact Deborah toll free at 1-877-907-7744 or locally at 705-749-1259 We can also be reached at 

Ensure your workplace is a safe place.

Remember – In Canada, “ALL Accidents are Preventable”

‘Work’ and ‘Play’ safe.

Daniel L. Beal

CHSEP – Advanced Level
VP & Senior Trainer
HRS Group Inc.


2 thoughts on “Blog Post #1191 – WOHSS Names New Chair, Vice-Chair”

Leave a Comment